Meet Josh & Christa

A video message from Josh & Christa

Call or Text us
Learn More

A Letter from Josh & Christa

We are Josh and Christa, and we are blessed to live on the beautiful island of Maui!  We both own our own businesses, which offers us a lot of flexibility for quality time together doing things we love, whether at home having a meal, camping, or a day at the beach. We love being together and are excited to share our lives with your child.

We hope to share communication with you at whatever level you feel comfortable with.


About Us

We met in Miami in 2011 and knew right away we wanted to get married, so a couple of months later, we did on New Year’s Eve! Since then, we have had so many adventures together, traveling and experiencing the world by air & sea.

In 2015 we were living in Africa and decided to move to Maui. Once we were settled in, we started to try for a family, and 8 years later, our infertility journey led us to the beautiful opportunity to adopt. We are thrilled to grow ohana (family) now.

We love to work with missionaries around the world as well as with local organizations that help with providing people with much needed housing, food, and water. We also enjoy spending our time at the beach, walking our dog (Arnold), and spending time with each other. We look forward to cozy weekends at home, beach days, camping trips, and many adventures around the world with our baby.

About Christa (by Josh)

Christa is the love and center of our home,  she thrives on making it cozy and comfy.  From fluffy blankets to candle-lit rooms, she loves cozy!  Her love for cooking and nurturing is endless, she was made to be a mom. She has a very soft heart and is so gentle and kind. She is also determined and gets things done! Christa loves animals and has rescued many injured wildlife and released them back into nature.

Her hobbies include running on her treadmill, reading, walking our dog every morning in our neighborhood, planning, organizing, and taking vacations!

Christa looks forward to:

Time is the most important to me. I cherish all the time I spent with my Mom & Dad, and I want to share the same with our child. I look forward to spending time reading, having picnics, walks, and teaching our child everyday skills.  ‘Im excited to be a stay-at-home mom!

About Josh (by Christa)

Josh is the kindest and most generous person I know.  He is the first to say sorry, and is so humble. This man loves big and with all his heart! He speaks 5 languages fluently, and we hope to teach our child at least 1!

Josh grew up in West Africa and has a vibe that is so attractive and fun to be around. He’s the fun Dad and is always up for an adventure, be it surfing, kiteboarding, spearfishing, or hiking. He also loves gardening, beekeeping, and learning new things. He is very mechanical, loves to build things, and up-cycle.

He works as a kite-boarding instructor and is patient, gentle, and takes the time to teach and help each of his students.

Josh looks forward to:

I look forward to watching our child grow, to really know who they are and what they love, and to nurture those desires.  I’m excited to teach our child so much, like how to work on a car, garden, and so much more.


Our Family

Josh has 2 grown sons, Johan and Olivier, who live in Florida full-time.  They are both excited to become big brothers.

Our Extended Family

Christa grew up in Canada, and that is where all of her family still lives. She is very close with her brother and stepdad. She also has 1 grandmother and lots of Aunties, Uncles, and cousins. She is extremely close to her family, and during our visits they have driveway parties, camping trips, weekends away, and always times are their family cottage on the lake.

Josh grew up in West Africa. His mom is still in Africa but visits yearly. Josh has 1 brother who lives in Colorado, 1 sister who lives in Washington, and 1 sister who lives in Virginia. We plan fun family reunions and the last one was in the mountains of Colorado.

All of our family and friends are excited about our adoption!  They are praying daily for us to be a family.

Our Home in Hawaii

Our home is in a quiet neighbourhood nestled at the foot of some beautiful green mountains. It’s a 4-bedroom, 3 bathroom that sits on 1 acre. We are in a quiet neighborhood, with many multi-cultural families and professionals.

We have a big fenced-in backyard with views of the mountains and a beautiful garden that we eat from daily. Our front yard has a wonderful green grass yard with oceanviews. We have a covered lanai and plenty of outdoor living space for either relaxing or hosting.

The main level has an open concept and hosts a big kitchen, dining room, living room and sitting area, its large but also very cozy!

Our Promise

Thank you again for taking the time to get to know us. Our promise to you is to love your child unconditionally and to support them throughout their entire lives in a home with 2 parents that cherish them.  We will raise them with values and morals and to love God.  We will educate them and expose them to multicultural experiences, all while having many adventures and fun times together filled with laughter, joy, games, beach days, and so much more.

We are humbled to be a part of this decision and would love to keep in touch through letters, pictures, and visits.

Love from Maui to you!

If you would like to learn more about us, please call or text Lifetime at 1.800.923.6784.

Learn More About Josh & Christa

  Josh Christa
Our EducationAir Craft Mechanic, Pilot LicenseTourism and Hospitality
Our ProfessionsOwner of Kite boarding School and online storeEstate Manager
Our Racial BackgroundCaucasianCaucasian
Some of Josh & Christa's Favorites
FoodRibeye SteakFrench Fries
Vacation SpotCosta RicaBahamas
MovieComing to AmericaDirty Dancing
Place I'd love to visitAntarcticaGalapagos Islands
Hobby or Past timeSurfingRunning on my treadmill
Birthday DinnerSteak, Fries, Salad, and Angel Food CakeFilet Mignon, Lobster, Fries, and Chocolate dessert
More About Our Family
Our Special Interests

Outreaches around the world:
-We love to work with missionaries around the world. We just completed a water treatment plant in West Africa at an orphanage. Josh went in November and installed the equipment; now they have clear water to drink.
-We also work with another African missionary to raise awareness for medical equipment and housing.

Outreaches locally:
-Every year we work with Angel Tree and get our church involved in buying Christmas presents for kids of incarcerated parents on behalf of the parent in jail. We have witnessed so much joy from this outreach.
-We work with many local organizations that help people find homes and food.

Our Faith

We are Christians who love Jesus, and He is the center of our lives. After moving here, we really got involved in our church; they are our family and community! At church, we are on the greeting team, prayer team, social events, and missions team. We often host church get-togethers at our house, which is so much fun with lots of food and music.

Josh grew up in a family that loved and served the Lord in Africa, and that has sculpted his life. He loves Jesus with all his heart and soul and hosts a men's Bible study in our home each week.

Christa loves to study the Bible and belongs to a women's Bible study that meets every Thursday.

Our Culture and Backgrounds

Josh: Josh is half German and half Dutch. He was born in France as a US citizen born aboard and, at 10 months old, moved to West Africa with his family. He moved to the United States in his early 20's. He speaks 5 languages fluently: English, French, Dutch, German, and Wolof (the local language in Africa).

Christa: Christa is Canadian and has both US and Canadian citizenship. She speaks English and a little French and Spanish. She was born and raised in Canada but has lived all over the world like Cuba, Jamaica, Dominican Republic, and Afghanistan. Most of her travel experiences have been for work or education. She spent many years working on private yachts sailing around the world.

Together we have traveled and experienced so many cultures, languages, foods, music, and dancing. We look forward to sharing more in the future with our child.

3 Specific things we love about where we live

-Maui is such a magical place to live....where we live specifically on Maui, we love the green mountains behind our home and the ocean views from our front yard.
-The weather is always great; we even look forward to rainy days!
-We have a beach, golf course and a park in our neighborhood and love taking our dog there to play.

We Prefer a Child Who Is...
Age of Child

Newborn to 3 months


Yes absolutely!




Any race

In Closing

Thank you for taking the time to learn more about our family. We are excited to welcome your child into our home and share with him or her our passion for island life. We look forward to teaching them how to swim and surf and sharing with them our love of hiking. We promise to love them unconditionally. To encourage, support, and cheer for them as they grow, learn, and become the person they were meant to be. Through it all, we would love to keep in touch with you at your comfort level.

Call or Text us